Irene by Simon Harsent

Photographs taken at Jones beach after hurricane Irene had passed through. Harsent wrote: “Fascinated as I am by the Ocean, that afternoon I took a drive out to Jones Beach to shoot the surf. These are a study of the waves during high winds, but they are also a study of power and of contrasts – for while the wind whips the surface in this spray-heavy storm and vast swathes of water are forced to fold in on themselves there is, deep down, a sense of calm. A place where the ocean remains untouched. Unlike me. I am in awe. While I take pictures, calmly framing each shot, the sight moves me beneath the surface in a way I can’t explain.”

via Behance

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “Irene by Simon Harsent

Leave a Reply

